top of page
  • Anna Maria Junus

Advent Blog Day 10: The Non-Christmas Christmas Movies

What the heck do you mean by that? There are movies I love that I associate with Christmas even though they are not Christmas movies. Often there will be a Christmas scene in it, but the movie isn't about Christmas. Or it will trigger something that will remind me of Christmas. So here are some of my favorites and if I've reviewed it I've provided a link. Tell me yours.

Almost Angels (1962) The story of a boy who is accepted to the Vienna Boys Choir. It has no Christmas scenes in it. Why does it make me think of Christmas? Because when I was a kid we had a record of Christmas music sung by a boys choir. I have no idea which choir, but boy's choirs singing Christmas music makes me think of this movie. I just wish there was a choir similar for girls (is there?).

Little Women (1994)

Little Women is not a Christmas movie, however it opens with the scene where they March girls are celebrating Christmas and talking about how meager Christmas is this year, when they hear about a family who has nothing, so they bring them their Christmas dinner. There are several Little Women movies. Pick one, any one. And it turns out several Christmas scenes.





The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, And the Wardrobe (2005) The same year this came out, I portrayed the White Witch in a community play of this. It was one of the best times in my life, so I have an especially soft spot for this story. This movie has a line it it where Narnia is said that "it's always winter but never Christmas". But things change when the Pevensey children come and Father Christmas presents them with gifts.


The Sound of Music (1965) These Are a Few of My Favorite Things has made it to the canon of Christmas music even though it's not a Christmas song at all. The mention of snowflakes seems to have put it there. But it's the puppet show that makes me think of Christmas. What an absolutely fabulous gift!


Mame Lucille Ball stars in the version. The Rosalind Russell one is better. However I found this clip from the Ball movie. Fun movie - either version. It tells of a very independent and unconventional woman who takes in her nephew.


Meet Me In St. Louis There is one Christmas scene in this that produced one of the most beautiful Christmas songs ever. Also a great movie. This scene is with Margaret O'Brien who is sad about having to move to a different town.

We'll end on that note because you can't do better than Judy.

2 views
Past Blogs
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Postcards.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Well.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Hobbit.png
Featured Posts
Categories
bottom of page