top of page
  • Anna Maria Junus

Advent Blog Day 30: Pretty Lights





I was living in Victoria in the 70's and early 80's there was an area in the city called Candy Cane Lane, where the neighborhood went all out and decorated. Every house had numerous lights, various displays, tons of people walking up and down the sidewalks and cars slowly driving along the roads. One year I went with my sister and her boyfriend. Unknown to me he had put his CB radio on speaker (back then it was cool to have a CB and a handle), so everything I talked about as I oohed and aahed while we drove the street, was announced to everyone walking along the sidewalks. It took me a while to realize why everyone was staring at us. Years later in Edmonton I went to another Candy Cane lane with my daughter and her family. We wandered up and down the street admiring the work that neighbors had done. I don't know of a Candy Cane Lane where I live right now, but on Christmas Day a friend and I did go looking at some lights and took pictures. These displays take a lot of work, a lot of money, and some design skills. Personally, I'm not a fan of the blow up displays. I think they're fine for Halloween, but I like my Christmas decorations a little more elegant. We only had an hour, but we found a few houses here and there. So in case you didn't get out to look at lights, I'll share some of the ones I found. Snoopy seems to be really popular.















I'm hoping that next year's Christmas celebrations will be many and more glorious to make up for this year. Mostly I hope that people will be able to be with their families.



3 views
Past Blogs
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Postcards.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Well.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Hobbit.png
Featured Posts
Categories
bottom of page