top of page
  • Anna Maria Junus

Advent Blog Day 6: In the Bleak Mid Winter


One of the things that I love about Christmas, is that it is that one time of year where we can enthusiastically and unabashedly, celebrate Jesus. The rest of the year, even at Easter, Jesus is reserved for church, but at Christmas, Jesus is everywhere. In the nativities on display, in the cards we send, in the shows we watch, but mainly in the music that is sung and played. Secular music stations will play the lovely Jesus songs alongside the other celebratory holiday fare. Even the Jews, like Neil Diamond and Barbra Streisand sing about Jesus. I love all of it - both the secular and the religious. We all know the usual songs, but I discovered this one just a few years ago, and today I found that it originated as a poem by the great poet Christina Rosetti (1830-1894). I don't know where I was all those years not knowing about this carol. I've been collecting Christmas music for years.

In the Bleak Midwinter - Christina Rossetti

In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,

Earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone;

Snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow,

In the bleak midwinter, long ago.

Our God, Heaven cannot hold Him, nor earth sustain;

Heaven and earth shall flee away when He comes to reign.

In the bleak midwinter a stable place sufficed

The Lord God Almighty, Jesus Christ.

Enough for Him, whom cherubim, worship night and day,

Breastful of milk, and a mangerful of hay;

Enough for Him, whom angels fall before,

The ox and ass and camel which adore.

Angels and archangels may have gathered there,

Cherubim and seraphim thronged the air;

But His mother only, in her maiden bliss,

Worshipped the beloved with a kiss.

What can I give Him, poor as I am?

If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb;

If I were a Wise Man, I would do my part;

Yet what I can I give Him: give my heart.


Christina of course, had no way of knowing that her poem would turn into a Christmas song to be enjoyed by many throughout the world. It's not like there was even stereo systems and records in her time. Music was something you actually had to play yourself or listen to someone else play live. She came from a time when people would gather in parlours to listen to their friends, family, and guests play the piano, the violin, or sing. It was something you dressed up for. They dressed up for everything. So for this Sunday in December, I thought I would share a selection of versions of this song. Here's Susan Boyle singing it.


I stumbled across this beautiful video. Gorgeous voice, gorgeous visuals.


Maybe you prefer a James Taylor vibe. He doesn't stick as closely to the lyrics as the others. This is not an official video, just a fan putting some beautiful pictures with his recording.



Another one I stumbled across. This guy's voice does not match his face. This is how you have a boy band during covid.


And I found this jazzy acapella version.

Which one is your favorite?

6 views
Past Blogs
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Postcards.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Well.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Hobbit.png
Featured Posts
Categories
bottom of page