top of page
  • Anna Maria Junus

Free For All Friday: Mary's Song




Mary's Song

by Anna Maria Junus


I remember the night that Gabriel came

And told me all about you,

And I remember the night that you were born

And angels sang around you,

And the people came from far and near,

And claimed you as their king,

But to me

You were just my baby.


I still hear the anguished cry of mothers

When the soldiers came,

And we had to flee like fugitives,

And for years we hid away.

I watched you play out in the fields

With other boys and girls,

And for awhile

You were just my baby.


I’ve seen you heal the sick,

I’ve seen you make the lame walk,

You’ve healed the blind, let deaf men hear,

And made the speechless talk.

Some people worshipped at your feet,

And some people spat on you.

I know you are, the Son of God,

But you’re my baby too.


Now here you are, with nails in your feet

A crown of thorns upon your head,

You call to them for water,

They bring you vinegar instead,

They’re casting lots, for your clothes,

A Son of God they don’t understand,

But can’t they see,

That you’re my baby.


Father in Heaven, I’ve done everything

That you have asked of me,

Please take care,

Of my baby.





Today, during a service in church, the pastor was telling us that Jesus had been tortured severely before He was taken to the cross. And what got him through was thinking about His great love for us. At that moment, I thought about mothers. And how we too are tortured, often for hours, while giving birth. The pain is excruciating. Honestly, it feels like our body is being turned inside out. And most of us bear the physical scars of it for the rest of our lives. But what makes it worth it, and what gets us through - is our great love for that child we know we will hold in a short time. We look forward to holding that baby. Mothers are partners with God. We bring forth the physical soul. God brings forth the spiritual soul. And then - whether we realize it or not - partner in shaping the entire soul. And God holds us. I was not the only one with the same insight. My friend sitting next to me, when I shared this with her when the service was over, said, "I thought the exact same thing too."

22 views
Past Blogs
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Postcards.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Well.png
b8bd3f935d3c7270a454da6903096706_edited_edited.png
Final Hobbit.png
Featured Posts
Categories
bottom of page